Facebook - NGO Funds



What are the EEA Grants?

The EEA Financial Mechanism shall contribute to the reduction of economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area and to strengthening bilateral relations between EEA EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and the beneficiary states.

Our Objective

Strengthened civil society development and enhanced contribution to social justice, democracy and sustainable development.

Which countries are included?

In the 2009-2014 period, around ˆ146 million is set aside to support NGO Programmes in all 15 beneficiary states: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.

What are the priority areas?

  • > Democracy, Equality and Human Rights
  • > Social Inequalities and Services
  • > Environment and Climate Change

Key Activities

The NGO Programmes Channel Funding is there to support activities such as fostering active citizenship, advocacy, watchdog and monitoring activities, promoting multi-cultural dialogue and awareness raising. Provision of basic services to vulnerable groups is also considered.

A specific emphasis is placed on capacity building of the NGO sector itself. Partnerships between NGOs in donor and beneficiary countries are encouraged.


Quick Search